How the preferences change ???

Yesterday, I was standing outside the medical store waiting for my turn to buy some medicines.
There was a old man wearing old almost-torn clothes & white beard standing in front. Storekeeper brings a big medical box to counter after reading the prescription.

“350 ₹…” He said.
Old man take out money from his pocket. It was 310 ₹ somehow ..

“This is all I have …. I will pay the  remaining soon … We are staying at Hospital !” He said.

Storekeeper smirked , grab the box and placed it back in cupboard.
Old man was stunned .. May be thinking what to do … tears started gathering in his eyes.

One gentleman standing there said…
“Take the remaining amount from my bill… give him that box”.
Storekeeper handed the box to old man, take the cash.

“Son, How ti feed this powder to baby ? he is just 2 days old” Old man inquired.

“This is not for the baby … This is for his mother”.
“Oh ! Then take this … I’ll buy this later”, old man returned the box.

Storekeeper pissed off … returned the money with anger in his eyes.
Old man gives the money back to that gentleman & starts walking..

I asked the old man , walking with him….
” Why you returned the box ..?”

Wiping the sweat he said ..
“I thought it’s for my little angel … Why to his mother ? … She is fine now …If we need to buy medicines for baby … who will give us money for that ??”

I was left with no words … My mind was filled with many thoughts .

How situations make man so calculative ?
How the preferences changes ?
How the flow of love changes direction so quickly ??
Does the poverty make men so hard to take such decisions ??

All this questions made me feel numb.
How small their needs are .. how calmly the old man take that decision. Without making issue , No anger for storekeeper,   without loosing the calmness.

Accepting the situation , old man decided his preferences. I was walking with all this things going through my mind .
“Hey, leave the road fool” rant from Rickshaw driver take me back to reality.
My eyes started looking for the old man. But he was lost in the hospital crowd.

“This is life !” I said like nothing happened.

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected  VF90-HQUW-JBD7-HLE1

Copyrighted © 2016-17 Mahesh Mali | Awesomengers 

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

24 thoughts on “How the preferences change ???

  1. This is a wonderful story, I actually thought it happened, and I read on the comments that it’s fiction. It’s sad that some people could be like the storekeeper sometimes. It’s really sad. Anyway, thanks for sharing. Keep up the good work! Cheers! ~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

